Banner for LabNotes
From Lab Notes
Contact Information
Forest Products Laboratory
One Gifford Pinchot Drive
Madison, WI 53726-2398
Phone: (608) 231-9200
Fax: (608) 231-9592


View all Research Highlights

Gene Conservation Among Lignocellulose-Degrading Fungi

Sequenced fungal species
described in this study
Sequenced fungal species described in this study
Snapshot: By examining the number, structure, and expression of fungal genes an international team of researchers have demonstrated conserved mechanisms of lignocellulose deconstruction.

Certain wood decay fungi have evolved the capacity to efficiently degrade all the major components of cell walls, including cellulose and the recalcitrant polymer, lignin. These microbes play a key role in forest carbon cycles, and their unique enzymes have attracted considerable attention for the bioconversion of woody biomass to useful chemicals. Nevertheless, considerable uncertainty remains regarding the uniformity of enzymatic mechanism particularly in light of the well-known geographic and climatic diversity between species.

Addressing this question, we sequenced the genomes of Pycnoporus cinnabarinus, P. coccineus and P. sanguineus and compared their gene content, transcriptomes and extracellular proteins. The genetic repertoires were strongly conserved irrespective of geographic and climatic origins, and a core set of degradative enzymes were identified. Co-occurrence of extracellular H2O2-generating enzymes with H2O2-consuming enzymes were observed in the three species, although certain transcript pairs were independently regulated. The data also suggested synergism between cellobiose dehydrogenase-coding genes and at least one lytic polysaccharide monooxygenase gene. This study highlights a conserved core of fungal enzymes underlying mechanisms of lignocellulose degradation.
Princpal Investigator(s):
 Cullen, Daniel

Forest Service Partners:
  • Daniel Cullen

External Partners:
  • Shingo Miyauchi, Hayat Hage, Elodie Drula, Laurence Lesage-Meessen, Jean- Guy Berrin, David Navarro, Anne Favel, Delphine Chaduli, Sacha Grisel, Mireille Haon, François Piumi, Anthony Levasseur, Anne Lomascolo, Steven Ahrendt, Kerrie Barry, Kurt M. LaButti, Didier Chevret, Chris Daum, Jérôme Mariette, Christophe Klopp, Daniel Cullen, Ronald P. de Vries1, Allen C. Gathman, Matthieu Hainaut, Bernard Henrissat, Kristiina S. Hildén, Ursula Kües, Walt Lilly, Anna Lipzen, Miia R. Mäkelä, Angel T. Martinez, Mélanie Morel-Rouhier, Emmanuelle Morin, Jasmyn Pangilinan, Arthur F.J. Ram, Han A.B. Wösten, Francisco J. Ruiz-Dueñas, Robert Riley, Eric Record, Igor V. Grigoriev, Marie-Noëlle Rosso

Fiscal Year: 2020
Highlight ID: 1643